Rakat Counter Apps Compared
For counting rakaat while you pray, the apps built for the job are Prayer Memory (iPhone, Apple Watch and Android) and rakaah.ai (iPhone and Apple Watch); Niya is a wider prayer tracker with an automatic rak’a counter, 2Rakat tallies repentance prayers you owe, and tasbih counters count dhikr taps rather than rakaat.
Last updated:
At a Glance
| App | Platforms | Apple Watch | What it does | Works offline | Price | Account required |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Prayer Memory | iPhone, Apple Watch (works standalone), Android | Yes: a silent haptic pulse for each rakaa | You calibrate it once to your own pace, then it guides you with haptics; or count manually. Also has Taraweeh mode, a tasbih counter and prayer history. | Yes (core features) | Free to download; optional Pro upgrade in the app | No |
| rakaah.ai | iPhone, Apple Watch, Apple Vision; no Android version listed | Yes: the Watch is the main device | Uses the Watch's motion sensors to detect prayer positions, after you train it by holding each posture; alerts by sound, haptics or display. | Not stated | Free; no in-app purchases listed | Not stated |
| 2Rakat | Android (Google Play); no App Store listing found | No (Android app) | Not an in-prayer counter. It tallies two-rakat repentance prayers you owe: tap Add, then mark them as prayed. | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated (the listing says no personal data is collected) |
| Niya | iPhone, Mac, Apple Vision (App Store); Android (Google Play) | Not listed on its App Store page | A broader prayer tracker (qada, Quran, Qibla) with an automatic rak'a tracker that counts by sound and vibration. | Not stated | Free, with paid Premium subscriptions | Not stated |
| Generic tasbih counters | Varies: iPhone, Android and web | Varies by app | Tap to count dhikr toward a target such as 33, 99 or 100. They count taps, so you have to follow the rakaat yourself. | Varies by app | Varies, many are free | Varies by app |
Based on each app’s public listing on October 5, 2026. “Not stated” means the listing does not say. Prayer Memory is our own app, so we have kept to what each listing states.
Which One Suits You?
Prayer Memory suits people who want silent haptic guidance on Apple Watch that follows their own praying pace, or a manual counter on iPhone or Android, with no account and offline use. It also includes a Taraweeh mode and a tasbih counter. It is free to download, with an optional Pro upgrade in the app.
rakaah.ai suits Apple Watch owners who want the watch to detect prayer positions automatically. You train it first by holding each posture, and its FAQ notes that things like a loose watch or hand movements during dua can affect the count.
Niya suits people who want a general Muslim prayer tracker (qada, Quran, Qibla) with a rak’a counter as one feature. Its App Store page lists iPhone, Mac and Apple Vision, and an Android app is on Google Play.
2Rakat suits someone who wants to keep track of two-rakat repentance prayers they intend to pray later. It is a different tool from a counter used during salah.
Tasbih counters suit dhikr, such as the 33-33-33 after prayer. They count taps, not rakaat. Our own free online tasbih counter is one example.
How We Compared
We read each app’s App Store listing, Google Play listing or website on October 5, 2026. We did not test every app ourselves, and listings change, so check the sources before you decide:
- Prayer Memory: App Store, Google Play, prayermemory.com
- rakaah.ai: App Store, rakaah.ai FAQ
- 2Rakat: Google Play
- Niya: App Store, Google Play
Not sure how many rakats each prayer has? See the rakat guide for every prayer.
Frequently Asked Questions
Prayer Memory and rakaah.ai both have Apple Watch apps. Prayer Memory's Watch app works standalone and gives a silent haptic pulse at the pace you calibrate; rakaah.ai detects prayer positions from the Watch's motion sensors. Niya's App Store page does not list Apple Watch.
Prayer Memory and Niya both have Android apps on Google Play. rakaah.ai lists no Android version, and 2Rakat (Android) tallies repentance prayers you owe rather than counting rakaat during salah.
Prayer Memory does not require an account. The other listings we checked do not state whether one is needed, so check the app before you rely on it.
No. You can count by hand or in your head, and our rakat guide lists how many rakats each prayer has. An app helps when your attention drifts, especially in long prayers such as Taraweeh.
Try Prayer Memory
Free to download, with an optional Pro upgrade inside the app. Works offline, no account needed.